Surround Sound Receiver Experts (Please Read)

StangJason

Established Member
I'm a bit new to the surround sound receiver game but I am starting to get interested in a new one especially now that I've heard of ones that may be able to upconvert my Direct TV signal to 1080i. So is it true can all of my Direct TV signals be upconverted to 1080i or am I miss understanding what I've been reading about these new receivers?

Also does anyone have any recommendations for a good receiver that does that?

Ocho Cinco
Established Member
Unfortunately, it will not be a native 1080i signal. When you upconvert you are simply zooming in on the pixels and stretching this across 1080 lines. When doing this this it is common to throw artifacts in there to artificially enhace the picture. I know Sony, Denon, Harmon kardon have jumped on the upconversion bandwaggon. Keep in mind just because you have a digital signal-- and you have a upconvert receiver--- it will NOT be high definition. This is a process where the pricing on receiver ultimately dictates on how well the upconversion process works. I'd suggest a Denon receiver if you have good speakers. Anyway thats my .02 cents.

StangJason

Established Member
image said:
Unfortunately, it will not be a native 1080i signal. When you upconvert you are simply zooming in on the pixels and stretching this across 1080 lines. When doing this this it is common to throw artifacts in there to artificially enhace the picture. I know Sony, Denon, Harmon kardon have jumped on the upconversion bandwaggon. Keep in mind just because you have a digital signal-- and you have a upconvert receiver--- it will NOT be high definition. This is a process where the pricing on receiver ultimately dictates on how well the upconversion process works. I'd suggest a Denon receiver if you have good speakers. Anyway thats my .02 cents.