Surging/surges/bucks ..

SNK-BIT

It's Real..Coletti Signed
Established Member
whenever the engine (in any gear) is around 1500rpm and foot is off the gas. This is sooooo irritating. Whenever I'm just cruising I feel like such a noob. It's like I'm just learning to drive a stick all over again. It's only this rpm area and any "slight" throttle pressure and it smoothes right out.

Specs..
180 degree thermostat
13 degrees timing
BBK cold air intake
Stock 70mm mass air
Stock 65 mm throttle body
Stock 24lb (blue top) injectors
Walbro 225 lph fuel pump
BBK FPR set at (no vacuum) 39psi
Stock cobra lower and upper intake
AFR 165's
Scorpion 1.7RR
Comp XE270HR-14 cam (4 degrees advanced) 218/224 and 544/544
FRPP shorty headers
Bassani x-pipe - no cats - flowmaster 40's - 2.5inch from headers back
Stock X3Z (?) computer - no chips etc

I recently installed the heads,cam,pump,and regulator. Pretty much all upgrades came from your inputs and car (as long as it's above 1500) runs like stink. I'm pretty sure this surge was there before but is aggravated? by my new additions. The question is, have I approached the limits of my computer/injectors (wishful thinking). Could the BBK fenderwell cold air kit cause this as I don't really remember if the surge was there before this. It also irks me as to why FORD did not add the protocols to read DCL data as manually checking every sensor hot/cold is a pain. Would/could/should I use an A9L computer and if so could I read the DCL data on this? Am I just to the point of taking it for a dyno tune? Any ideas/suggestions? Thanks.

SNK-BIT

Established Member
Thanks .. but not sure it's what I wanted to hear. I thought it might be something I could fix. I guess I should be happy that your telling me I'm at the level were someone else needs to take over? If I could locate an A9L or similiar would this be feasible to look at inputs before a tune? If not then what should I expect to pay/receive for a dyno tune? Thanks.

bat-stang