SUE a performance shop and WIN?????

drusmith

Established Member
Not sure if this is the correct spot for this thread but here goes.

So I have been battling with this performance shop since March 2013. Here is the thread link of the abortion Hellion turbo kit install. http://www.svtperformance.com/forums/turbo-cobras-247/935022-my-turbo-build-2003-sonic-blue-vert-3.html#post13533859

I am trying to figure out if I have a good case against them after they told me to pick my car up from their shop because a rocker fell off and it was not their fault. LOL Unreal...... And that was the 2nd time they blew my engine.

Has anyone ever won a small claims or full on lawsuit against a performance shop? nay help would be appreciated.

AznStanger3v

King of the LOL
Established Member
it's worth a shot. about 9 years ago while I was in college, I worked at a Mustang speed shop. I was 18 and thought this place was legit. Well, they were doing the same shit to people. The shop manager was stealing from customers and not doing any of the work promised. He would take their brand new parts and give them used parts from around the shop. I know people had talked about pursuing it in small claims but never went through with it since the shop went under.

moral of the story: DO IT.

SCBQQSTN

Established Member
Research local lawyers in your area, pick the best one, and go for it. There is no excuse for a shop to do that.

kevinatfms

Ex-Ford/Kia/Hyundai Tech
Established Member
Premium Member
just read everything. that sucks, hope you get it figured out.

Last edited:

ElscottHavoc

It's all your fault.
Established Member
Buddy of mine successfully sued a performances shop for similar negligence. They settled out if court - i guess thats successful, but hes prohibited from talking about the details of the case. I know shops like like to use the "its the nature of performance engines" excuse, but that only is true to a certain point.