Subframe connector install

SVT04

Established Member
We installed subframe connectors on my sons 94 GT. Next comes my 04 Cobra. I'm a welder so away we go !
We wanted a good subframe connector without having it hang too low (our cars are both lowered) so I went out and bought some 1" x 2" x .125 wall rectangular tubing. We fabbed them up by tacking them together under the car ,finished welding them,and then painting and welding them to the car.
We welded them on with the car sitting on jack stands with the suspension loaded just as if it were sitting on it's wheels. That way everything stayed straight.
We also used some 1" square tubing and put jacking rails on too. Of course they are tied to a cross brace bolted to the rear of the front seats.
We wanted to paint them a light grey,but the paint ended up looking almost white. The can said light grey :lol:
Let us know what you think, they turned out pretty good and the car is much tighter now in stiffness.
subframeconnectors015hq8.jpg
[/IMG]
subframeconnectors014rt7.jpg
[/IMG]
subframeconnectors017wz8.jpg
[/IMG]
subframeconnectors022vm5.jpg
[/IMG]
subframeconnectors025su0.jpg
[/IMG]
subframeconnectors027jx8.jpg
[/IMG]

Last edited:

01vert

Established Member
Did you weld in a reinforcement plagte where the main tube was cut and angled? Most have this now as it seems like a weak spot

SVT04

Established Member
Thanks guys,it was a piece of cake for me as I have been a welder/fabricator (and for the last 10 years a full time Welding Instructor) all my life. Recently bought a little Miller 135 amp Mig welder and went at it.

I thought that $100.00 worth of material to do subframe connectors on 2 Mustangs was pretty reasonable. It took about 4 hours of work to do my sons 94 GT.:burnout:

Last edited:

SVT04

Established Member
01vert said:
Did you weld in a reinforcement plagte where the main tube was cut and angled? Most have this now as it seems like a weak spot