Structural Engineers: Would you buy this house?

CobraJazz

drive it everyday
Established Member
If you guys could give some opinions on this I would be really grateful.

I am looking to buy my first house. This house is really a beautiful piece of work, but there are some cracks in the brick work. It is about 30 years old, and sits on the side of a wooded mountain here in Kentucky. I am really leery of it with these cracks, but if anyone has some insight please pass it along.

I can post a bunch more photos if you want.

Here they are:
PB160644.jpg

PB160645.jpg

PB160647.jpg

PB160648.jpg

PB160650.jpg

PB160651.jpg

PB160720.jpg

PB160721.jpg

PB160722.jpg

PB160723.jpg

SNCBOOM

Established Member
I'm not an engineer but...how many different areas are there of damage? I would immediately say "oh, hell no" after seeing something like that.

ESVEETEE

Established Member
it's likely the case as was with (or similar to) my ex's parents' house. the foundation was being pushed off the side of the hill by the earth. i would pay someone to take a good look at it before ya buy.

SNCBOOM

Established Member
I'd pay someone to come look at the house. Assuming that you can get it for a good price.

firebird1999us

Established Member
I've seen commercials for companies that come out and do full foundation repairs in cases like that...if it's not your house and it's not on some spectacular piece of property though I'd stay the hell away from that kind of damage!:shrug:

1cbitten

Established Member
This is sometimes a result of the ground settling after being built but since being on a side of a hill and looking to be extensively cracked on three sides I would consult a professional to come check. The structural integrity is definitly compromised IMO.

BLK03SVT10TH

Mods? What Mods??
Established Member