Steeda Underdrive pulleys, I'm a little confused?????????

shabbyblue

Established Member
I want to buy the Steeda underdrive pulley set for my 97 cobra. http://www.steeda.com/steeda-mustang-underdrive-pulleys-701-0002/. Is this all I need to get to get the maxium horsepower or do I need to buy an extra part. I see with the March underdrive pulleys people were buying 4 parts with that set up, the pulleys and the damper. Do you have to do that with the Steeda set up? Here is what I'm talking about March Performance Fluid Dampened Harmonic Balancers 1158-08 - SummitRacing.com, March Performance Power Steering Pulleys 640-08 - SummitRacing.com, http://www.summitracing.com/parts/mch-1172,March Performance Race Alternator Pulleys 116 - SummitRacing.com. It seems like the Steeda doesn't come with the Dampened Harmonic Balancer. I'm very new to the 4.6 engine so please excuse my rookie questions. Thanks

98 N/A 4V

Established Member
You can get just the crank pulley (i.e. Harmonic dampner) just by itself. The Steeda sells a kit with all of them. I would personally just get the crank pulley with the waterpump pulley. Stay away from Steeda. Get the march fluid one. Or a piggyback pulley set.

-Mark

deadernie

is my name
Established Member
I've got the Steeda set and it's been on there since 1998 and probably 50k miles. I might get a new set just because they're getting a little rusty and the newer style crank pulley seems much nicer.

shabbyblue

Established Member
Toy surprise I guess the car already has the Steeda set-up. 98 n/a 4v why are the Steeda pulleys so bad? I was reading through the site for a couple hours and seems like everyone or most people were recommend the Steeda pulleys over the piggy back style. I also saw a lot of people favoring the March also, but wondering about the Steeda because they are on car now.

brucesvt

Established Member