Sirius window sticker

MustangSteveGT

Buck
Established Member
I saw someone with a "damn dealer sticker" thread and I have a little issue of my own. it's pretty simple. i peeled off the "equipped with Sirius" transparent sticker off the window of my new ford escape. well it left this really really sticky buildup on the inside window glass. it just doesn't come off with regular window cleaner. household or automotive. what product would get this off. it looks like crap because part of the image is still there but with no backing. its some adhesive crap.
i'm sure there has to be a simple solution. what can i use to remove this from my glass without hurting the glass?

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
Hmmm...

Goof Off
Mineral Spirits
WD-40

Try scrubbing with a #0000 steel wool. Don't worry it won't scratch your glass. Tinters use it to remove the adhesive left by previous window tint when cleaning the window.

I'm suprised that windex didn't work as it contains ammonia and is pretty powerful against adhesives.

If its a clean piece of glass, skip the steel wool idea, and go straight to using a new razor blade. A dull one can scratch the glass.

The steel wool is excellent for glass like your rear glass with the defroster lines as it wont damage them.

MustangSteveGT

Buck
Established Member
Hmmm...

Goof Off
Mineral Spirits
WD-40

Try scrubbing with a #0000 steel wool. Don't worry it won't scratch your glass. Tinters use it to remove the adhesive left by previous window tint when cleaning the window.

I'm suprised that windex didn't work as it contains ammonia and is pretty powerful against adhesives.

If its a clean piece of glass, skip the steel wool idea, and go straight to using a new razor blade. A dull one can scratch the glass.

The steel wool is excellent for glass like your rear glass with the defroster lines as it wont damage them.