Should I get one

127bull

Established Member
I drive about 140 miles a day all interstate or 4 lane and my truck only gets about 15-17 mpg and I need an economy car but don't want a boring slow something. How good is the SVTF in the winter, would I have to get winter tires and would they last all winter putting that kind of mileage on them? I am looking at either a new SVTF or the ZTS with the new 2.3 engine. Need some in put from people who have experienced something similar. Thanks

DaveSVT03

Established Member
If you're looking for a fun car with incredible handling from the factory, get the SVT. I don't regret mine one bit. I don't have much experience driving this car in the snow, but I have many years of experience driving in snow and ice. This car should be very good in the snow with good tires. Of course, I learned to drive in the snow/ice in various rear wheel vehicles (Torinos, Mustangs, etc), so from that standpoint most modern cars seem good in bad weather to me.

I would get the 2.3 if you're going for straight economy. With the 2.3 you could save a bunch more money and it should still be a good commuter car. Conversely, if you are going to spend a lot of money modifying the car the 2.3 could be a great platform to build on.

In any event for practicality and convenience I really like my SVT ZX5. I ran it at an SVTOA autoX and set the best time of the day bone stock. Outran supercharged miatas, cobras (some heavily modified for handling) and various others.

http://www.svtoa.com/news/index.asp#{A326400A-04D1-4AF0-99AA-96192A42BF83} Page down about half way to see a photo of the mighty SVT Focus in action.
:bowdown:

Dave

AZ SVT

Established Member
Originally posted by 127bull