Shift Work

03BLWNDSG

Established Member
So does anybody else here do 12 hour shift work? I am a plant operator at a plant here where I live but our shift work schedule is so confusing and real stressful. They were telling us that our schedule is proven to be the worst one by OSHA so they are considering changing our schedule up a little hopefully to the 7 on 7 off schedule. There is still debate going on about what schedule they are going with, if they even decide to change it, and they told us they wanted input from everyone at work. Well I have only been there about 2 years so it really doesnt matter to me. But what do y'all think..if you do shift work, how is your schedule set up. Any input will be greatly appreciated...Thanks

astrodudepsu

1of72 Hater
Established Member
12's here, 24/7 Ops. We switch from Days to Nights and back every 8 weeks.

Our nominal schedule is a two week repeating, (work) [off]

(Mon-Tues) [Wed-Thurs] (Fri-Sun) [Mon-Tues] (Wed-Thurs) [Fri-Sun] Repeat.

So you never work more than 3 in a row, and you get a 3 day weekend twice a month.

03BLWNDSG

Established Member
yea ours is pretty much the same way. 3 day weekend every other weekend and work no more than three in a row..and thats only on weekends..i mean its nice..its cool being off in the middle of the week and all..

5spd07gt

BaggedCobra
Established Member
10 hour shifts here. 5:30am-3:30pm, 1:00pm-11pm, and 8:30pm-6:30am are our shifts. we rotate monthly. 4 days on, 3 off.

jasil

Established Member
Proven by OSHA to be the worst one in what way? I did alot of shift work years ago.......worked a 2/2/3 and a 4/3.....and imo the 4/3 is great. I would do it now if somehow I could.

A 4/3 is:

Friday,Sat,Sun,Mond, nightshift
Tues,Wed,Thurs, off
Fri,Sat,Sun dayshift
Monday off
Tues,Wed,Thurs nighshift
Fri,Sat,Sun, off
Mon,Tues,Wed,Thurs dayshift,
Frid-the next Thursday off or 7 days off.

I loved it averaged 44 straight time hours a weeks and had 7 days off every month.

03BLWNDSG