severe top-end sputter

D-Con

...Rather have a Buick?
Established Member
I just installed a o/r x-pipe and FR-500 exhaust in my otherwise all-stock hardware Cobra.

Before I did the exhaust I had downloaded one of the standard programmed Predator tunes for mildly modified stocker, or whatever they call it, and also turned the rear o2 sensors off. It seemed to work fine with the stock exhaust on it.

Now I have a bad sputter at the top of 1 and 2 gear (didn't try for 3). It doesn't seem to have a problem if I just mash the throttle in a higher gear but I didn't try to run it all the way out like that. :shrug: I cant tell if it's fuel or spark, but my guess is fuel.

I just remembered I should have unhooked the battery to let the computer re-learn, but haven't tested it yet. Could that be all of it?

I'm a newb to Cobra tuning...help?

04CobraMatt

Established Member
Canned tunes suck. I would put back the stock tune (dont worry about the SES light) and try it out again.

If it goes away and you dont plan on a custom dyno tune anytime soon, get some MIL eliminators and be done with it.

S.V.T.

'schitty wok'
Established Member
dude that canned tune is CRAP.
my buddy used one after an xpipe and catback install (only mods) and the car kept stalling out.
get a custom tune, or leave it on the stock tune.

D-Con

...Rather have a Buick?
Established Member
Boy you guys are right. Put the "HP stock tune" , (meaning user adjustable stock tune) back in with the rear o2 stuff turned off and no other changes; problem solved.

I Let off as soon as sputter started. :shrug: Now I just hope I didn't hurt it :nonono: :mj: Didn't think just exhaust would lean it that much with stock pulleys and intake. I'm an idiot.

I wanted to try the exhaust and see how it sounded inside the car. I am going to be swapping the Whipple on this weekend I think and already have a tune ordered from Amazon.