Running temps with aluminum radiator

Dekorum

Established Member
What do most of you guys run at operating temperature (out of the letters of NORMAL) with aluminum radiators or specifically a mishimoto if you have? My mechanic said it would be normal for the temps to read higher with the mishimoto I installed because aluminum transfers more heat (?) I thought people got aluminum radiators to lower their operating temps. When I am going fast or on the highway, it runs back down at like N or O but when I am just doing normal city driving its always at the A. Its pretty annoying because it makes me thing I am going to overheat although it never does. It just seems like its operating temperature is at A. I have a 180 degree Mr. Gasket thermostat as well as a new OEM water pump replaced 5k miles ago with a new thermostat housing and all new hoses. So, is this normal?

Slow95Cobra

Certified in SVT by Ford
Established Member
mine stays at the N O area all the time, untill i sit still forever then it goes up half way and the fan kicks on. but usually i catch it on the way up and turn it to A/C for a sec, kicks the fan on. but i have fluidyne.. alum. is alum. though.

STAMPEDE3

SAULS BROTHER
Super Moderator
Sounds normal to me. It will operate where the thermostat and fan settings allow it to. The extra cooling capacity allows you to run harder longer without heating up more. That is all it will do.

In other words,
If you change nothing else it will run the same as it did just with extra capacity.

Dekorum

Established Member
But how do I know if I really have the extra cooling capacity that the aluminum radiator should have gave me?

The thing is my car ran like Slow95Cobra's when I had my OEM radiator. N/O all the time and sometimes to R then I would see the fan kick it back down. Then when my original radiator started leaking last month I had to replace it, so I chose to get the cheap aluminum Mishimoto. I wish I would have gotten another OEM one now..

95PGTTech