Reload your own ammo

DSG04Lightning

U.S. PARATROOPER
Established Member
Does anyone here reload their own ammo? how about casting your own lead rounds? Ive been thinking about getting into this. Any pros/cons?

zak88lx

Future SVT *****
Established Member
I've always wanted to do this as it would not only save money on ammo, but it also looks like a fun hobby.
I have been saving all of my fired casings from .223, .270, .303 and 8mm with the intention of reloading them in the future.

oldmodman

Established Member
I've been reloading most of my ammo for 40 years.

I have an RCBS Rockchucker loading ram and around twenty sets of dies.

But the most useful thing I have is a large vibratory tumbler for cleaning the brass. If you do decide to start loading the most important first step is to get that brass clean. Especially the primer pocket.
I clean my brass twice. Just after the primer removal (which I do as a separate step from full length or neck resizing) Then again after the full length or neck resizing to get the case lube off the brass. And you should visually inspect every piece of cleaned brass for an foreign material inside the case and also for any cracks starting in the case.

DSG04Lightning

U.S. PARATROOPER
Established Member
I've always wanted to do this as it would not only save money on ammo, but it also looks like a fun hobby.
I have been saving all of my fired casings from .223, .270, .303 and 8mm with the intention of reloading them in the future.

yeah recently ive gotten serious about getting into it. It would be nice to have a stock pile of ammo. Also be able to shoot more often. I hate to have to spend $200+ every time I want to shoot for at least an hour+

Just finished watching 4 videos on youtube.com about the whole process.

Last edited:

DSG04Lightning

U.S. PARATROOPER
Established Member
I've been reloading most of my ammo for 40 years.

I have an RCBS Rockchucker loading ram and around twenty sets of dies.