Racing Seat Inclination

DocB

Established Member
I have a big 3 day track weekend coming up and could use some help from the experienced. This will be my second official serious track outing, and the first in the car below. First day is a track day run by NASA, and the next 2 days are Driving School. I am new to this and my question is regarding seat positioning. I will be spending alot of time in this seat.

I will be driving an 08 Mustang GT based vehicle with Ford Racing Sparco seats for the first time on track. The seats are somewhat adjustable with 4 bolts in regards to inclination, but it is kind of a pain to do, so I would like to have it as close as possible before I get to the track. The seats themselves slope quite a bit toward the rear and I usually don't like driving laying down(or back). The front of the seat bottom seems to press against my thighs and I fear may get in the way of pedal work. My plan was to tip them forward as much as possible.

Although it is understood that one should position the seat so it feels good and comfortable, is this the best position for track driving?

TXPD

Rookie Racer
Established Member
a 08 mustang gt based vehicle? is this a mustang gt or is this a race car? if a race car is it a miller car or fr500s car?

my best advice i can give you is to find your comfort zone in the seat available. my race car seating and my street car position are totally different. i have a racetech seat in my car. the ford racing sparco is too large and the omp and momo's are too tight.

find a position where you aer basically comfortable and just realize you will have to adjust. there is no way to pretest what your body will feel like under actual loading on the race track

Sirl

Established Member
Unfortunately, there is not short cut to "trial and error" when it comes to installing a fixed back seat.

Once you get it close, you can use washers to raise or lower, according to what feels best.

DocB

Established Member