Questioning my path in life... (college related)

DrYeRLiNt

Horse From Hell
Established Member
I am beginning to wonder if the path I am taking will actually make me happy in life. I honestly do not know if 20 years from now I'm going to be happy what I am doing, regardless of how much I make.

Right now I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I am half way through my sophmore year, and I don't know if this is the way I want to go. I end up with headaches all the time from all the math and science work I have to do. I just don't know if that is what I want with my life.

What do you guys think? Am I making a mistake?

SVTTuckF100

M&M Custom Finishes
Established Member
I was in your boat too...end of my second semester of my sophmore year at Iowa State for Logistics and Operations Management, which as a double major average starting salary was about 125k. I was so unhappy with the stress and the classes, but now I am happier than ever being a mechanic and hope to finish my diesel courses soon.

You aren't making a mistake by being in school, but try a different major possibly. If you are in school, its not a mistake, if you drop out and never continue again, that is a HUGE mistake.

Money doesn't buy happiness, you gotta remember that.

Last edited:

Zorabot

Al Bundy
Established Member
It will be hard for "THE MAN" to outsource that work to another country so no, and it pays good and you will be smart, all good things.

Coiled03

Established Member
Welcome to college - everyone questions whether or not their major is right for them at some time or another, especially engineering majors. Believe me, I majored in M.E., too, and went through a similar period.

Speaking as a fellow engineering major, keep in mind that your first two years are very heavy on technically oriented classes. Your last two years will be much more enjoyable....at least, they were for me.

CalcVictim

Resident douchenozzle
Established Member