Question(s) regarding a Novi 1000 RR

Longhornd00d

I Roll With My Kitties
Established Member
( I also posted this in the Blower Bistro, but I don't know how many people go in there so I felt this would be a good place to post this as well).

I have a few questions about my car regarding the S.C. (Novi 1000 RR), especially since I'm needing to get it tuned within the next month or two. I'm new to all of this so please bare with me (Even though I have been lurking for awhile).

I bought the car used at a local Ford Dealership with 39,700 miles on it. The story over the car is in the SN95 Forums under the Car Pictures thread.

The car had a new engine installed not too long ago (29,000 or so miles back in 2001). I believe it still has mostly stock everything, according to the man's father who previously owned it.

The car is running rich right now. You can tell on start up- blows black smoke- and when you kill the car you can smell unburnt gas. This leads me to believe they just used the chip that came with the S.C. from Paxton. Is this fine to run on for now, or will it hurt the car in anyway?

First off, I'm going to Dallas Mustang to get it tuned (closest place to me). I haven't called them yet, but plan to. What all is needed when going to get a car tuned, besides money and the car that is getting tuned? Will they re-chip the car (How much does this cost?), and if so, do you have to provide the chip or do they have them?

Does a Paxton Novi 1000 RR require a bigger MAF, Injectors, different Spark Plugs, faster flowing fuel pump, etc. than what comes stock on a 1998 Cobra? If so, what does it need?

My next question is how much does it usually cost to get a car tuned and how long does it generally take ( I know it depends on the person and place, usually).