Question for the experts...can you get a KB to produce 600rwhp SAFELY on 92/93 octane

Black2003Cobra

Established Member
I'm no expert, but a word of caution...there have been reports of a few KB-blown motors that failed.

Vaelin

Established Member
I think those were all pushing 19-21+ pounds of boost, and some of them were going for more while running on the edge as far as a/f goes. 15 pounds should be a no-brainer. Hell, the Heaton drivers are running almost that high with no issues.

Black2003Cobra

Established Member
As I said, it was just a word of caution. But just for the record, Coleman was only running 17 psi (according to his sig). Not sure what RaceRat was running. Also, I don't think there are any Eatons pushing 600 rwhp.

Last edited:

Shadowgray03

Snake Charmer
Established Member
Originally posted by Black2003Cobra
I'm no expert, but a word of caution...there have been reports of a few KB-blown motors that failed.
There have been non-kb blown motors that have failed as well. Its all in the tune.

Vaelin

Established Member
I meant the Eatons are running close to 15 pounds of boost.. obviously nowhere near the efficiency of a KB, but the engines are still holding on.

Like Shadowgray03 said, it's all in the tune. I'd run 11s for a/f just to be safe.

SVT4J

This isn't the autobahn?
Established Member