• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Quarterhorse cannot extract SCT tune

Discussion in 'Tuning À la carte' started by keith89, Sep 9, 2019.

  1. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    My 04 GT with 2.1KB was tuned 10 or so years ago with an SCT tuner. However, the rear O2 sensors are off and I would like to disable the PATS and chance fan speeds. I picked up a quarterhorse with the plan to modify my Cobra tune. I installed in in my GT instaed and when i try to exctract the current calibration it says the calibration has been locked to another user. Does this mean the tuner who created the tune for my cars locked the tune and it cannot be unlocked unless i beg him for an unlocked tune to load into my car? I'd rather not return the car to stock and start over with the tuning process.
     
  2. DSG2003Mach1

    DSG2003Mach1 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,602
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Central Fl
    keith89 likes this.
  3. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    was just thinking i should message him lol
     
  4. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    forgot to mention i'm using binary editor to try to read the curent calibration
     
  5. wirelessguy2005

    wirelessguy2005 4S FED Established Member

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    Very interested to see how this works out, I am getting ready to go down this same road
     
  6. 96gt02

    96gt02 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Location:
    NJ
    If the SCT tune is a .CEF file then it is locked by the tuner
     
  7. decipha

    decipha EFI Dyno Tuning Established Member

    Messages:
    633
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    keith89 likes this.
  8. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    didn't realize BE would have that issue. thanks.
     
  9. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    figured it out. nvm. there was a binary editor update and the ford read and read functions were combined into a button with a dropdown.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019
  10. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    ok now my only problem is using my sct tuner to return to the stock tune. I have a feeling i have a PATS problem. I use the remote start to start the car because the chip in my key stopped working. I have to turn the car on but not start it to flash my ecu back to stock. Any suggestions? I was thinking of changing the quarterhorse calibration to disable pats then flash the ecu but that doesn't seem to work.
     
  11. decipha

    decipha EFI Dyno Tuning Established Member

    Messages:
    633
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    it doesnt matter if pats works or not just use the key to turn the igniton on and off

    you cant flash the ecu with the j3 port in use

    under hardware go to moates and disable the qh (mode 0) to write over the obdii port - return to stock with the xcal
     
    keith89 likes this.
  12. keith89

    keith89 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    thanks!
     

Share This Page