Polishing 101

flyby763

Established Member
Want to try to poliah out some scratches and swirl marks on the lady's ride but havent done it before. Anybody know of any tips or tricks for newbies? Recommendations on a DA polisher?

Mach1USMC

SVT Powered
Established Member
Depends on what you want to spend.... IMO Griots Garage makes the best DA for the $ right now. PC makes a great DA too. If you want to spend a little more get a Flex 3401- powerful, corrects extremely well- better than the GG IMO. For Pads get Hexlogic or, Micro Fiber, or Lake Country. Products- I really like the V series from Chemical Guys or M105/205 from Meguiars. The Pinnacle and WolfGang lines from AutoGeeks are pretty good too.

fulanititoo8198

Established Member
Damn someone has a secret obsession^ haha When I get time I want to learn how to detail correctly because my mothers benz has more swirls then Dairy Queen.

Mach1USMC

SVT Powered
Established Member
Secret obsession? .... Well I am a professional detailer who really enjoys and am good at my chosen vocation. I know what products work well so when people ask for advice i try to help based on my experience. I don't know if that's an obsession.

RC-5.0

Established Member
I get most of my supplies from Adams Polishes, but even if you dont buy from them, take a look at their vids:

Instructional Detailing Videos

That's how I got started. I do fine with the Porter Cable, and it's a great machine for beginners. I find that the correction is more on the technique and not so much the "stuff" you use.

Let us know how it goes.
RC

Mach1USMC

SVT Powered
Established Member
I get most of my supplies from Adams Polishes, but even if you dont buy from them, take a look at their vids:

That's how I got started. I do fine with the Porter Cable, and it's a great machine for beginners. I find that the correction is more on the technique and not so much the "stuff" you use.

Let us know how it goes.
RC