Pistol Question

f8tlbite

fordplay equals fordgasms
Established Member
I am going to a gun show this weekend to buy my first pistol. I need something for home protection mainly. I will also be carrying this gun to work as well. I am trying to decide between the following three:

Glock 45
Snub nose 38
Snub nose 357

What are your thoughts? I am new to the whole pistol thing, so some adive would be nice. Thanks :thumbsup:

type911

Heave To....
Established Member
All good choices. for concealed carry. leave out the 38. the 357 can fire both 357 and 38. I like your style. I think the Glock45 recoil will actually be more controllable than the others however.

Last edited:

Silverstrike

It's to big to move FAST!
Established Member
If your going to go snub revolver get the .357 as then you can shot both 38 spl and 357 mag. I say this to even women as you want the broadest versatility if your going to be buying a gun get the most out of it as a 38 spl is very limited. Another snub is the Charterarms Bulldog Pug in 44 spl pretty economical and doesn't cost an arm and a leg to buy. In an auto pistol the 40 S&W beats the 45 ACP in everything except for the grainage of the bullet you can get 230 grain for the .45 only 200 grs for the .40 but with the newer loadings the .40 just flat out performs the .45 ACP plus most of the pistols are smaller over the dustbin sized .45 pistols

just a list of check them out also

1 Charterarms Bulldog Pug 44 spl
2 IWI Magnum Research Baby Eagle compact .40 S&W
3 CZ-75B /P-01,06 in 40 S&W
4 if money is no object Sig Sauer P229, P250
5 Taurus 800 series in .40 S&W you can also get it in .45 ACP

Mike's_98_Snake

Established Member
I'd suggest the Glock 23 (compact) or 27 (baby) which both shoot .40 caliber. The recoil will be a lot less, stopping power is excellent, and a little easier to put on target. Just my .02

The S&W .38 snubbys loaded with +P hollowpoints are nice for an ankle holster, or nightstand drawer too. ;)

f8tlbite