PC 7424XP or Flex XC3401VRG

JustaGT

N/A Ain't For Me!
Established Member
Which one? I am not a professional detailer but want to do some of my own work. I have been wanting the Porter cable for a long time because I know how safe it is even in the hands of an amateur but now that I am ready to get one I am reading about the Flex. Is it just as safe? Which one is better? I saw a video on youtube where the Flex did a better and faster job due to the RPM speeds and now I'm curious. Thanks for any help

rcn4god

Swirl Slayer
Established Member
the guy i get my stuff from uses the flex for heavy scratched cars due to the weight of it...he did say it is better for the advanced car buffers..I love my PC tho..check out the thread i just posted t see the work

AWDLS2

Established Member
Also look into the HD Polisher. Heres a good video that compares them all
[youtube_browser]OQrQzIBH50c[/youtube_browser]

MattZ28

Established Member
Advantages of the Flex 3401:
-480 RPM forced rotation (PC does not have this)
-Integrated backing plate
-9600 OPM (orbits per minute - PC XP only goes to 6800)
-Less vibrations
-Better power cord
-Better overall ergonomics and German build quality
-Variable speed trigger w/trigger lock (vs. on/off switch on the PC)

The PC's main advantage is its price point. It'll get you from point A to point B, but the Flex will do it better and faster. Kinda like comparing an import with mediocre build quality to a Mercedes. :)

Give me a call here at 1-877-253-8425 and I'll help you out. I've used all the aforementioned polishers and can help you make your decision. For anyone looking for a 3401, we just got in a shipment of them and are offering them for $329.99, free shipping.

http://www.lethalperformance.com/ca...bital-polisher-dual-action-rotary-buffer.html

Last edited:

D2Fresh16

Established Member
Advantages of the Flex 3401:
-480 RPM forced rotation (PC does not have this)
-Integrated backing plate