Owned by the 1099

Juruense

Banned
So I do IT consulting on the side but I only have one main customer right now.

Today they called me up and said; "Hey, we need your social security number so our accountant can issue you a 1099." :dw: :??: :eek:

Wow, talk about SUCK :cryying:

I guess its for the best though, dodging out of taxes is no way to start a business.

So now I am getting a 1099 which will increase my AGI by $2016.

I am pretty good with personal taxes, but I could use some advice on this situation. I do not have a tax id number, my business is not a formal one. What can I do to offset some of the additional tax liability I am facing here?

I am only interested in legal methods to reduce my taxes paid.

Any advice would be appreciated...

ff500

Established Member
I'm in my 3rd year as a small business owner and I recently went from a DBA to an S-Corp, I've been learning as I'm going along ,so far so good.

If you work out of your home and have a home office you can deduct for the home office,including a percentage of your utilities, you can deduct milage and fuel for your vehicle, also a percentage of your vehicle ( 50% personal 50% business) depending on how much you use it for your small business, internet and cell/home phone for business purposes, any magazines/books/computer programs you use,also your laptop if its business related.

Best advice would be to find a good accountant, its really not that expensive,and also if you're going to pursue it further try incorporating as an s-corp or an LLC and get a EIN number so your not giving out your social security #.

SNCBOOM

Established Member
You're best off speaking with a seasoned accountant. My dad works for the railroad and owns 2 businesses of his own. It is a hassle and can become expensive but it IS worth it.

Juruense

Banned
I dunno, I am already looking at unexpected tax liability not sure if I want to give an accountant some money also. I appreciate all the responses! :beer:

ff500