"Over-Rev" Feature

02GTKB

Nolimits
Established Member
So far can not find any answers on how to remove the "Over-Rev" set by Ford which allows the rpm light go from 6250 to 7k rpm once at 170* which at this point and time the car is heat soaked and not wise to get the most power on a dyno pull. Anyone have info on this? Or is it there regardless but you can still push it past 6250rpm while under 170*?

Chancey

Auto Affection
Established Member
So far can not find any answers on how to remove the "Over-Rev" set by Ford which allows the rpm light go from 6250 to 7k rpm once at 170* which at this point and time the car is heat soaked and not wise to get the most power on a dyno pull. Anyone have info on this? Or is it there regardless but you can still push it past 6250rpm while under 170*?
Im no expert by any means, but I would want mine up to temp (at least the 170 or more) before I rev it anywhere near redline. Keep in mind the 2013-24’s are designed to do so. Unless you have modded to over 800-850 whp when dyno-ing, it should be fine. My 2 cents are: I wouldnt over rev all day, but I would want it up to temperature before running it hard.

02GTKB

Nolimits
Established Member
So you want to change the rev limiter? That keeps you from blowing your engine?
No not remove it lol. The safety feature Ford has set in the tach area, the red line that starts at 6250rpm and will go aways once the cars engine temps reach 170* it will move that red line to 7k. But I would never just start the car up and do a pull cold start that is common sense, but I feel it sitting on the dyno idling waiting for 170* engine temps is hurting the potential for most hp, and yes talking about dyno pulls nothing else. Goal is to be north 800whp

2011 gtcs

GT500 poster
Established Member
Premium Member