one wheel peel

CbiScuT

Established Member
Are these trucks (2nd gen) one wheel peel wonders? I'm new to these trucks and have discovered that my L only seems to light the passenger side tire when I floor it. Or do I have something wrong? :shrug:

coild

Established Member
They are all Traction Lok diffs. You should be lighting up both tires. Might be a problem in the differential.

tpr103

Established Member
i would try changing the the fluids in the rear first, don't forget to at a friction modifier. how many miles do you have on the truck

CbiScuT

Established Member
I agree about fluids. A buddy of mine works at our local dealership and he recommended changing or servicing the rear first. It's got 120k on it and I know for a fact it's never been cracked open before (I bought this thing used but know all the previous owners), so it's scheduled to get serviced on Fri. If that doesn't take care of it, then I'm looking at an Auburn...

CbiScuT

Established Member
Yeah from what I'm finding, it'll be just as expensive or even cheaper to go aftermarket as it would be to go back with another Trac Lok.

CbiScuT

Established Member
Update:

I serviced the rear yesterday, geez 75w140 is not cheap; $18 a quart. At least the friction modifier was still $4. But anyway, once the old fluid was drained, a thorough inspection was done of the pan and diff, we noticed tiny little powder like metal mixed in the old fluid. Thankfully there were no chunks or large metal shavings, or at least nothing significant that would warrant a replacement, so we sealed it back up and added the new fluid. Once I put about 15 miles on it, two black marks on the driveway confirmed that it just needed servicing. Thanx for the info guys!

bamaRed

BAMA-LOC
Established Member
i did notice, that with such good tech support here, you should reward them with some tire carnage pix!!! hint hint. lol

Scuba-Matt

Boost Freak!!!!!!!!
Established Member