Oil Change problem

Nulltime

Established Member
I recently purchased a 2012 GT500 with 9400 on the odometer. At 11800 now.

Decided to get an oil change at a shop and brought my own oil a KMAN's oil change kit 7 Quarts of Motocroft 5w-50 and an frpp filter. Supposed to have 6.5 of that installed.

They came back and stated it needed another quart I was one short.

As I am new to these I did not realize what they had done until I got to my office about 5 miles away that they had in fact added 8 Quarts.....

I checked the stick and my jaw dropped at how overfull it was. Called them and drove it back at lunch VERY slowly and forced them to drain it back to 7 Quarts. (They didn't seem to want to go lower?)

I drive very gently normally and never went above 2500 to 3k rpm at the highest (once briefly) during that time frame.

Not noticing any issues oil looked clean both at the stick and when they were draining.

1. Do you guys think I am ok?
2. Is 7 Quarts a problem? Looks like it should have 6.5

Thanks!

Distance driven was 10 miles both ways total.

Last edited:

Joewee500

Established Member
So did they provide the 8th quart? As soon as they said it needed another quart I would have had them do a full drain and provide me with 7 fresh quarts. I'm sure you're fine but I'd still go back and have them redo it while you watched them pour in 6.5 quarts.

limitedex

Love me some SVT
Established Member
I fill mine per manual spec. Then check level.

Sorry dude. I'm sure you're concerned. I hate to be that guy but these are examples of precisely why I do my own oil and have for years on every one of my vehicles.

All you need is a jack and two jacks stands buddy for a piece of mind.

Nulltime

Established Member
I brought 7.

They added all 7 (no idea why they did this! all they work on are mustangs) and then added an 8th quart.

I brought it back to them and they removed the added quart (Watched them do it) via the plug under the car.