Not about the kill

Venomous98Cobra

Established Member
Not coming here to talk about a so called "kill" while racing but rather some opinions.

I bought a 96 Cobra and don't know who the previous owner(s) are. I noticed that it had a fluidyne radiator, throttle body (company unknown), tubular k-member, tubular a-arms, aluminum driveshaft, upper and lower control arms, slotted front brakes, short throw shifter, long tube headers, off road h-pipe and flowmasters (30 series I believe).

Based on what has been done to the car I figured someone had set it up for road courses or they just started with suspension upgrades.

Anyways, I didn't plan on racing this thing and have only gotten on it once since buying it. Today I happened to race a 4th gen Firebird on an interstate and was pulling on him. Now, I'm a crappy driver and I granny shift cause I'm not trying to blow my tranny. So even if he sucked too, it didn't make sense to me. I thought the 5.7L Firebirds were quicker.

So we hit a slow spot and we were kind of talking in traffic and he said he had full exhaust, intake and something else. Could have been cam or chip, I couldn't hear. But I told him that I had full exhaust then he asked if it was supercharged and of course I told him no. I was trying to figure why he'd ask if it were supercharged. Maybe he hasn't been pulled on by a Cobra that wasn't s/c'd?

I could be wrong on my thinking but like I stated earlier, I thought the Firebirds were quicker. I'd love to know whats else is done to my car, any ideas if any? Performance wise of course. Its Winter so I don't have track times or a trap speed. Just one experience.

Guy Fawkes

Established Member
I think you are putting too much into the question. You have to remember with better suspension you are better able to put down the power you do have to the ground.

Leedog

Clan SVT
Established Member
Maybe gears, or high comp./cam'd engine?