Noobie Question - Is my polish/seal/wax job FUBAR?

Trubble

Established Member
Friday I finally got around to polishing the car. I clayed her again, then used my new PC and M205 polish. I applied a sealant (Detailer's Poli-Coat) by hand with a foam pad, and that part of the effort seemed to go well too.
I then went right into applying caranauba wax. Blackfire Midbight Sun. By the time the sun went down, the car was looking absolutely stunning. (At least to my eyes) - those of you who compete and win "best of show awards" may find fault with the job I did, but hey, I'm just learning the fine art of detailing!

While I was working on other things today, I recall hearing that the sealant should "cure" for a day or so before wax is applied. :uh oh:

So that's my question - was all my work WASTED by applying wax too soon? Do I need to start over? The car looks great, but I'm anxious to hear what you all think.

Gremlin85

Established Member
You might have compromised the integrity of the sealant by not letting it cure properly.

It might still work OK, but will not be optimal or give the best clarity either.

For better results and a longer lasting protection, it's best to strip it off and reapply.

mavericks-03svt

Established Member
anytime you clean up your ride and make it better than it was before is not time wasted in my book. I am sure you spend all day doing this and if it were me, I would let it ride for a while and then strip and redo when you have the time and it is ready for a clean up again. I did this the first time I applied sealant/wax and it did not cause any problems for me. I used CG Jet Seal and it is pretty user friendly so I wasn't too worried about it. However, a month or so later I stripped it off and applied it correctly for a piece of mind though.

Trubble

Established Member