Nitrous tuning questions

Joeblue5.0

Established Member
I have a 2013 Reg cab 5.0 F-150, pretty much full bolt on with JLT CAI, 85 mm t/b, Boss intake manifold, GT/Boss intake cams, Kooks L/T with their race catted mid pipes, side exit ford performance/Borla exhaust, 4.10 gears etc. etc.

I have always run a 125 shot(NX Express wet kit) on e85 with no problems on stock fuel setup. I bumped up to 47 lb injectors and added a vmp boost a pump, and also requested an updated file for a 150 shot.

The new tune seems a little more alive lower in the power band, but I've noticed that I went from seeing anywhere from 45-46+ lb/min maf flow to 36-38, also absolute load went from .90-1.02 to in the .72 range. The new file is setup a little leaner at .85 lambda, compared to .82.

Now I'm no expert with the tuning, and can attach files if anyone cares to put in their .02, but I wasn't expecting these changes, and with it being a wet kit and the maf not seeing the nitrous, I'm really concerned with the maf flow #'s...??? I reached out to the tuner, and was kinda just told they tune the maf.

Any input is appreciated.

nate-roth

Established Member
When you data log what fuel trims are you seeing- if they are off it will skew load and lb/min maf flow .85 Lamda is 12.5 afr- too lean for spray. Need to be .80 to .82. Something sounds out of whack and I definitely would not spray it until you get it figured out. There are a lot of good tuners out there to help you out remotely, not all of them charge big bucks either.
You should post a part throttle data log, if you tune with hp tuners and post your log and tune on the hp forum there are a bunch of guys on there that will review and help you out.
I self tune with hp tuners on my E85 2014 TVS Mustang, learned a lot from the hp tuners forum

Joeblue5.0

Established Member
Stoich at .85 would be 14.08 on e10, so .85 = 11.9

I’m running e85 so at .85 = 8.37