Nitrous Question

PrinceSlik

Established Member
Just installed a 125 Dry Shot of nitrous. When I activate it, it surchages. (feels like it keeps cutting out), then sometimes it works fine.

I have never used nitrous before. Anyone else on this board experienced with it? Wondering what might cause this. Also wondering how my engine will hold up to a 125shot. And how many runs on average do you get out of 10lbs of gas?

Thanks,
Slik

99SVTcobraVERT

sounds like you blowing out spark. prob happens at high rpms. gap your stock plugs at .35 or get ngk vr6 and gap them at .35 this should solve the problem

Joe Lynch

Established Member
Try TR-6 NGK plugs gapped at 0.035", just for clarification.

I use 1-1.5 lbs per run on a 100 shot, at 1000 psi. How much bottle pressure are you running? Where are you injecting the nitrous? Have you had it on a dyno to see if you are going lean? What do you have for a chip and for timing retard?

My experience with a NX wet kit on a 100 shot is nothing but good.

Here is a short video of what a Cobra on a 100 shot looks like when it it launched.....even at 3000 feet altitude.

http://www.anythingcars.com/users/jlynch/pen0314launch.mpg

Joe Lynch

PrinceSlik

Established Member
It's on a stock engine, injected in the intake. I have 2 step colder plugs, can't remember name.

I ordered a bottle heater, I think that's my problem. I need to get a psi gauge too =\

Joe Lynch: Do you have ne other mods except what's in ur sig? That's a nice time.

99SVTcobraVERT

yeah sorry typo, get the ngk's like i said. if you have autolite's ditch them. i had them before and they didnt hit worth a sh*t on the motor or the spray, never did figure out why. but my buddy with 02 gt and spray said the same thing

Joe Lynch

Established Member
PrinceSlik--A dry kit injected in the intake--I hope you mean in the intake tube ahead of the MAF meter? With no chip, I assume.