"Night" speed limit?!?! It was 6AM!!!

senecer01

Established Member
I was over in east texas and had my cruise control set at 78, it was exactly on the line. 6 to 8 over has always been enough to gain a little time but not get any extra attention. I get pulled over and he tells me I was doing 81 and that the speed limit is 65. The speed limit is 70 BUT the NIGHT speed limit is 65. It was 6 o'clock in the MORNING!!! All the sign says is "NIGHT 65". It says NOTHING about when the DAY actually begins for the texas state police, but you're telling me 6AM somehow qualifies as "NIGHT". :cuss:

Then he basically started interrogating me. Asked me where I was going, where I was coming from, why I had been there, how long I had been there, who's in my car, how do I know them, what I do for a living, who the other name on the insurance card is(mine is on there, so any other name is completely irrelevant in this situation)....like any of that matters or is any of his business?? Then he asked me why I didn't pull over immediately....it was probably 10 seconds, but until I pulled over he never got any closer than 500 yards...I wasn't even certain he was going after me until he pulled onto the shoulder behind me!!!

Then he tells me he's going to inspect my car and spent several minutes looking around the outside of it (was in a lincoln navigator, not the cobra, so I doubt he was just checking out my car). He tells me he's going to write a ticket and that I'm not to move from in between the two cars until he gets back. Then he goes and sits in his car for about 10 minutes...finally comes back gives me ticket and leaves. What the **** ever happened to "you were speeding, here's your ticket, have a nice day"??????? Instead I get a bogus interpretation of "Day vs. Night", a ticket for a speed that I know he embellished, and a not so subtle interrogation.

ChuckV

Established Member