Newbie Exhaust help please

Birdys03Cobra

Established Member
Ive got myself a Stock 03 Cobra that i purchased last summer. The car only has 12,000 miles on it, and its stored for the winter...

Im looking to change the exhaust, its much to quiet. Ive been looking around this site and other sites on what exhaust to purchase. I want something that will have a nice rumble with idle, but can become a beast when stepped on "not extreme" I want to keep the Cats on because ive had problems in the past with getting pulled over with my previous vehicles.

Is there anywhere to read up on the basics of exhausts? I dont know much about mid pipes and x pipes and all that, Ive only purchased turbo-back and cat-back exhausts in the past.

Sorry if i sound like a total newbie, just looking for some help to make my cobra sound mean...thank you

h82luz

beer drinker
Established Member
Go through the exhaust soundboard and find what you like. i run the bassanni and wouldnt change it for anything

Birdys03Cobra

Established Member
Go through the exhaust soundboard and find what you like. i run the bassanni and wouldnt change it for anything

I do like the bassani sound, what type do you own? Do you have the entire system or a x-h pipe? Im confused when it comes to everything at this point.

h82luz

beer drinker
Established Member
every person is different. i have mac long tubes with the lethal catted x and the 2.5 bassanni. the more posts that come up on this subject the more answers you will get

massmustang02

I hate Wrist Pins
Established Member
X traditionally gives a raspier sound while an H will give more of a deeper sound. Chambered mufflers like Mac's and Flowmaster's are more rumble type while Straightthrough designs such as Loudmouth's, Stinger's, and Maganpac's give more of a race type sound.

Birdys03Cobra

Established Member