New best track times w/ stock pulley...

Badgts

Ferrari Slayer
Established Member
Went to the track a couple weekends ago and broke my personal best ET and MPH records with the Cobra. Only power mods are CAI, catback, and Hypertech flash tune. Pully is still a few months away.

Times were...
1st run: sucky launch so run aborted
2nd run: 2.14-60', 12.417 @ 116.48 (Air Temp-60 deg.)
3rd run: 2.039-60', 12.316 @ 115.85 (Air Temp-65 deg.)

If I could ever learn to launch this car without breaking anything I think I could get down to the 12.1's. Its just I have broke a half-shaft already and now I am gun shy at the light. I use Nitto DR's but don't heat them up or anything. All I do is lower the pressure some and leave softly using the clutch. I know there is a better way to do this, I just need more practice at launching. Any pointers would be appreciated! Its not that I am new to drag racing (at the track) or anything, its just I haven't got the hang of launching the IRS yet. My last car was easy to launch, just rev it to the limiter and pop the clutch. Now I'm in a learning curve all over again. Like they say, practice makes perfect.

Badgts

Ferrari Slayer
Established Member
STREETREBEL said:
With That Mph You Must
Have Around 430 Rwhp.
OR MORE!
I'd guess a little lower than that, but one can always hope. The weather conditions were really good that day. I'll get a dyno pull done before and after the pulley swap and post the results. Won't be until Feb.-March though.

o3SnakeBite

Die Hard Sports Junkie
Established Member
With a 116 trap, you probably do have around 430rwhp... I have around 450 and trapped 118... But i have a 2.80 pulley!!!!

Badgts

Ferrari Slayer
Established Member
o3SnakeBite said:
... I have around 450 and trapped 118... But i have a 2.80 pulley!!!!
Do you have any other mods though (besides a pulley tune)? And what kind of chip/tuner are you using?

combatstang

BoOsTaHoLiC
Established Member