Need some (drag racing) advice

SomeSoldier

I wanna go fast.
Established Member
I am heading out to a 1/8 mile track tonight. I plan on taking it easy tonight since its my first time racing at a drag track, pervious experience is auto-x. The IRS is stock except an IRS brace. I am running Nitto NT555ZR 315/35/17 tires. What TP should I be at when I run? Also I am thinking about leaving the line, like I would leave a light hard, to start. If I do try and launch I think it would be between 1500-2500 rpms. Any advice would be helpful, thank you in advance.

Last edited:

zeusha

Established Member
Im new to my Termi too (1 month) Raced it about 6times and my PPRV killed my whole night man. I dont have much good advice but to make sure your spot on with your shifts, I found my best launches were at 2400rpm (trust me, I launced at 2k, 3k, 3500 and this was best RPM) Other than that im SOO used to my GM cars, but if you find anything out please let me know. GOOD LUCK

SomeSoldier

I wanna go fast.
Established Member
Zeush what part of Buffalo are you from?? I am org from there and I will be home back in a couple of months. Were you dumping the clutch of slippping it? Ill let you know what happens thanks for the help. Also I would not call it a Termi, most Terminator ownes do not like it when people call them that.

Last edited:

SomeSoldier

I wanna go fast.
Established Member
So I went to the track last night. I ran 34 PSI in my tires. The car did fairly well but I think she needs a new belt. I kept feeling something slip at high boost past 4600rpms.
Best time of the night was:
60' - 2.25
330' - 5.99
ET - 8.52
1/8 ET - 9.1
MPH - 76.91

Posi

Had a blast.
Established Member
You ran at Ohio Valley I'm sure of. Those times are kind of on the slow side but the weather last night was terrible so that's part of it. Check that belt and if it's really easy to install it's probably way to loose.

I'm about 45 minutes from the Valley.

SomeSoldier

I wanna go fast.