Need Info on auto cobras

Zimmer0924

Master Debater
Established Member
Hello,
I'm new to the idea of putting an auto in my 03 cobra. From what I read I really like the idea of having a auto with a manual valve body, 3 or 4 spreed with overdrive, a trans brake, and maybe a lock up. I would like this all to be in a 4R70W trans so I don't have to mess around with mocking it up to my engine.
I really don't understand the idea of having "lock up" as an option when getting a built auto, what does this really do. Also how do you know which stall converter to go with. If some of you guys could please explain this and any other help full advise that would help.

Thanks to all.

BADASS03SVT

Established Member
Hello,
I'm new to the idea of putting an auto in my 03 cobra. From what I read I really like the idea of having a auto with a manual valve body, 3 or 4 spreed with overdrive, a trans brake, and maybe a lock up. I would like this all to be in a 4R70W trans so I don't have to mess around with mocking it up to my engine.
I really don't understand the idea of having "lock up" as an option when getting a built auto, what does this really do. Also how do you know which stall converter to go with. If some of you guys could please explain this and any other help full advise that would help.

Thanks to all.

my first question would be...why? and whats the goals for the car?

going auto (the right way) is a big chunk o change.

first off...a 4r70w is a 3 speed with OD. if you dont want OD you go C4 or Th400.

trans brake....are you going to run slicks at the track? thats the only real way it will come in to any use

lock up....its for the street. saves some gas mileage...drops the rpms a little in OD...my car is faster locking the converter on the track too

converter....if/when you do this, talk to a few companies people recommend and pick one. they will set it all up for you but its usually set to your peak tq which on our cars with roots blowers is usually 3500ish.