Need help with connector.

spitin venom

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
Established Member
UPDATED WITH PICS AND HOW TO REPAIR IT!

I was finishing installing this round of mods and everything was going smooth until I had to plug in the throttle body. When I went to plug in the throttle body connector on the driver's side I saw a little piece of plastic fly out. The little locking tab in the connector broke. What pisses me off is that I even made sure that the red tab was pulled out and that I was extra gentle. I am not very good at wiring so I am asking for your help.

Can this connector be replaced?
If yes, how do I replace it?
Where can I buy the connector?

20140716_184817.jpg

You can actually see where it broke above the red parts in this pic.
20140716_184827.jpg

The connector no will not lock in place with it broken. Your help is greatly appriciated!

Last edited:

Teddy O

Established Member
This is a situation that would frustrate me, sorry buddy!

I'd start by stopping by your local dealer to see if they have, or can get, this connector body or this connector as a pigtail. You'll need some helpful and patient parts guys in my opinion.

If the dealer is no help I'd go to the local junkyard and cut this plug off another junked Stang. Hopefully this plug is the same in V6 and GT's. Also, I wouldn't rule out finding this plug under the hood of multiple Ford products, such as a Taurus or Fusion.

If you are able to cut one off another vehicle, it's just a matter of carefully repinning the plug with the new connecter body.

Good luck!

54First

Grouchy Old Guy
Established Member
Quick and dirty? Carefully drill a small hole through the connector and plug body and carefully install a small SHORT screw. It looks like there's enough safe space to do it. As an alternative, the Ford dealer should have a pigtail for every connector on the car. It's probably a Motorcraft part and maybe Rock Auto will have it. www.rockauto.com

Steve