Need Help... Academic Honesty

sub92loyill

short was never this wide
Established Member
Long story short I'm graduating from Wentworth Institute of Technology in Boston in August. The department I studied in (Civil, Construction and Environtment) has a huge issue with cheating students as well as some other major problems. Therefore, we created a committee to help solve these problems.

I wrote this document to promote academic honesty, not from an enforcement viewpoint, but from a moral viewpoint. I'm not sure if this will be accepted correctly by the incoming students, therefore I need your help. Some constructive criticism is would be greatly appreciated...

"Dear Incoming Student,
Welcome to the Civil, Construction, and Environmental Department at Wentworth Institute of Technology. The intent of this letter is to promote the two most important ideals which former CCEV students found necessary for successful completion of their undergraduate studies: honesty and pride.

Construction is an industry which enables the members of our society to perform their most basic functions. Without construction there would be no places to work, live, or relax. By choosing this field of study you are accepting responsibilities that most other professionals do not have – the quality of work you produce directly affects the safety and well being of the end users.

Consider why you have chosen your field of study. Unlike other degree programs, you have chosen a degree in which your level of effort determines your ability to produce something of a physical nature – be it a building, road, bridge, or even something yet to be engineered. You have implicitly chosen to study in this field because it makes you proud to see the result of your effort in a physical form.