My Senior Project - Gas Turbine Engine

cobra_matt

Established Member
I'm majoring in mechanical engineering and one of my last courses was the senior design class. I, along with four other people, chose to design and build a gas turbine engine. Luckily no one died and nothing exploded haha. Here are some pictures and a video of it running: (sorry for the crappy pics, they were "snapshots" taken from video footage)

Video100m14s.jpg

Video200m00s.jpg

Video300m02s.jpg

Video600m19s.jpg

Video602m15s.jpg

Video700m26s.jpg

Video100m09s.jpg

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c__ndBoW4dg"]YouTube - Gas Turbine Engine - CSULB Engineering Senior Project[/ame]

Last edited:

cobra_matt

Established Member
pretty cool man! sounds pretty sick

Thanks! It sounds pretty sick in person too. The video muffles out the sound though; it's almost to the point where you need some ear plugs lol

put it on a go kart! :D

That was the original plan but time was the deciding factor. If it was a two semester class then we would've done it without a doubt. We were gonna keep it after we graduate and try to fab up a go kart or stick it on a dirt bike some how, but my school wants to buy it from us so we'll see.

Last edited:

INJECTEDGT

Established Member
Man At school we an allison 250 turbo shaft and i'll be damned if I didn't piss the instructor off trying to talk him him into puttin it on a go cart.My buddy made the same thing. Took a turbocharger and added a combustion chamber and let it rip....man I love turbines!!! Good job man!

Sammyboy

Established Member
Awesome project by the way.

I'm actually co-oping with BorgWarner Turbo and emission systems and we get the pick of the litter with all of the "post-tested" turbo's. Well...a couple of us decide (after seeing a few Youtube videos of the turbine engine) that we'll attempt it. To make a long story short, we ended up spinning it too fast and blowing it up. I'm glad God decided to give me an extra eye.

cobra_matt