My head tick is gone!! Now I have a brand new knock!

ZincCobra03

Hold on to your helmet!
Established Member
Well, I got the car back a couple of weeks ago from the dealer after both heads were replaced. No more head tick, but when picking the car up I heard a lower end type knock, quiet, but there. I put another 400 miles on it and it is defenatly in the drivers side cylinder bank in one of the rear two cylinders. The car is at the dealer again, they are saying it is normal. I don't think so! Has anyone else had this type of noise, and if so what was done about it?

Just a little background, the car has 3k miles on it, only a CAI and Tri-Ax shifter.
I am a service manager at a car dealership, and used to be a master tech, so I am definatly not hearing things.

TERMIN8TR

Established Member
they probobly beat the piss out of your car, did you check the before/after mileage?

ZincCobra03

Hold on to your helmet!
Established Member
No, I did not ask them if they checked the pistons, I would have assumed that since the head issue was dealing with the #7 & #8 cylinders overheating.
Yes I did check my mileage, nothing out of the ordinary.
Has anyone else had internal issues with cyls. 7 or 8?

eddiemel30

Established Member
iam on the same boat as you are. this the 2 time my d/s head has got replaced.quit for a while now i got like a knock noise and it seems its coming from the head.(COME ON FORD ARE YOU GUYS HIRING IMIGRANTS TO CAST THESE HEADS OR ARE YOU LETTING YOUR EMPLYEES DRINK WHILE ON DUTY.i think these heads were probably made in the middle east thats why they are ticking, they were originaly made for that new car that ford introduce to insurgents(the all new exploder) : :D

ZincCobra03

Hold on to your helmet!
Established Member