My bosses want to race

bigdaddyregier

Established Member
Me and my 2 bosses have both bought new cars in the last 6 months and they want to race me. I bought a 14 shelby and one bought a 13 ctsv and the other bought a 14 vette. I have barely got to drive mine due to cold weather and me working a ton. It's going to be in the 80s here this week and I am off work so I am sure they will be hitting me up. Any suggestions on how to beat them? I know it's possible but I'm still learning the car and they both have autos so they are much easier to drive.

Payne Racing 67

Established Member
Well...you shouldn't have a problem with either car if you're going from a roll....the vette makes ~370rwhp stock, CTS-V ~480rwhp stock. You're putting down ~600rwhp so it's a no brainer. Just really practice your shifting a lot over the next few days-weeks.

bigdaddyregier

Established Member
I got it out the other day and made a couple runs. I was able to get a 12.3 @ 123 mph on the cars computer. I really want to beat the vette cause he said if I beat him he's ordering a new z06.

mrlrd1

Established Member
You should have no problem with the CTS-V.

The 2014 Corvettes launch very well and have a strong midrange. He'll probably get out in front and you'll be chasing him. Once the speed hits triple digits he won't have a chance.

Last edited:

pho_phizzat

Dapper as ****
Established Member
Well...you shouldn't have a problem with either car if you're going from a roll....the vette makes ~370rwhp stock, CTS-V ~480rwhp stock. You're putting down ~600rwhp so it's a no brainer. Just really practice your shifting a lot over the next few days-weeks.

600 to the wheels stock????

I have a hard time believing that. Are the GT500's that underrated?

I would think 550-570 would be in the right ball park. Given 15% drivetrain loss from 660.

That would mean they are over 700 crank from the factory.

BlueSnake01

Established Member