Missed Speed Limit Change So Now Have First Ticket = HELP!!!

RED2003COBRA

Established Member
Was taking my wife's jeep to base the other day to change the oil and I got pulled over for speeding on the intertate. Turns out that I didn't see the speed limit change from 65 to 55. I was cited for going 71 in a 55 and it's a 4 point $180 ticket. The policeman said I can go to court and the judge will probably cut everything in half. This is my first ticket and I've never been to court so some advice would be welcome. How many point's till your insurance is affected? How should I plea? Stupid question but what do you wear to traffic court? I'm a military officer so should I go in uniform? The funniest part of this was that I was driving the slow jeep and not my 03 Cobra. Any suggestions would help. Thanks.

Lance :mj:

FordSVTFan

Oh, the humanity of it all.
Established Member
Do NOT wear your uniform! If the judge is a prick he will think you are trying to influence the court and will not be happy. He will ask you what happened and tell him you were driving to the BASE. He will get your point that way and he will decide what to do with the info, not by you throwing it in his face.

EvergreenSVT

Established Member
Next time give your military ID to the officer with your DL. If he asks, say your CO or Sargeant told you to do that if you are contacted by the police. Many officers are former military and cut military guys brakes, at least according to the .mil guys I have discussed this with. Or he might get mad 'cause he couldn't get into the service due to flat feet. YMMV.

Lawman85

Banned
FordSVTFan said:
Do NOT wear your uniform! If the judge is a prick he will think you are trying to influence the court and will not be happy. He will ask you what happened and tell him you were driving to the BASE. He will get your point that way and he will decide what to do with the info, not by you throwing it in his face.