Military Pilots come in...questions

Starfox07

Formerly XR4turbo
Established Member
So I'm wanting to join some branch of the armed forces after college to, hopefully, become a pilot. I'm really in the dark about it, and I would rather not talk to a recruiter about it because they will obviously have their own agenda. I'm 2 years away from my bachelors in architecture, and 4 away from my masters. While I would prefer flying something like a A10, this isn't really important, I just want wings :)

I know architecture isn't particularly suited for flying, so what steps do I need to do to 'get ready,' so to speak, for becoming a pilot?

Do they shy away from non-engineering related majors?

Would it make more sense to go in with a bachelors or a masters?

I would feel pretty bad if I joined up just to end up doing some non-flying job for 4 years, especially if I have a degree in something with which I could be doing. Is there a way to sort of 'make sure' you become a pilot at some point?

How does eyesight factor in to the situation? My eyes are pretty good, but my left eye is a little weak. I can pass the drivers license vision test unassisted.

Basically I'm just looking for some general information about the process of becoming a pilot in the military, with the end goal of being a commercial or private pilot afterward.

lobra97

PIITB since 1984
Established Member
i know you can't be color blind as far as vision for sure....
as far as engineering majors i don't think you can, at least in the Navy i don't think you can fly unless its engineering type but you could always be an engineering or CB officer.
good luck on your search, if you do get to do it stick with it, flying is badass and thats what i want my son to do.

bnd3672

Established Member