lowering the cobra

98slowbra

Established Member
ok guys, I guess I can lower the car without buying the huge kit for $1100 which I do not have right now. I did contact stangsuspension and I get no response from them. Now can I just get lowering springs and spring Isolators to lower the cobra with the stock suspension? if so I do not know which ones to get. I drive this car maybe 2000 miles a year only. Which lowering springs would be the best for me? I do not want to lower it more then 1 1/2 inches. I have never done this before so I am looking for some good advice from you all.

sc98cbra

Established Member
All you need is springs and caster/camber plates. Get h&r sport line springs to satisfy your ride height. Just make sure you get your car realigned.

Toasty

Established Member
Ford racing B Springs are cheap and will give you 1" to 1.5" of drop.

Once you lower your car I would strongly suggest you replace your struts and shocks. Tokico HP's for a fairly cheap solution. These pretty much need to be installed with your springs.

I would also strongly recommend the Maximum Motorsports caster/Camber plates. Your alignment shop may or may not be able to get your alignment set correctly to prevent you wearing out the edges of your front tires prematurely.

Once money permits, upgrade to the 03-04 Cobra front lower control arms.

Last edited:

Toasty

Established Member
All you need is springs and caster/camber plates. Get h&r sport line springs to satisfy your ride height. Just make sure you get your car realigned.

The factory front struts will not last long once you lower the car. The lowering puts the stock struts out of their designed parameters. I would say springs and struts/shocks are a necessity first, with the C/C plates being possibly required.

98slowbra

Established Member