Lower pulley question?

Cameron57

Established Member
I've noticed some of you are killing the cranks that have certain lower pulleys. What is causing this? I've noticed alot of you are going to a double keyed CJ crank. Are these pulleys over spinning the crank at a certain hp or what? The reason I am asking is because mine is sitting in a box not on my car yet and if the lowers have to do with killing the crank I'm a bit unsure about putting it on.

Thanks,
Cameron

NightRide

Roll Racer
Established Member
I believe it's due to too much torque on the single keyway all at once. From what I understand it's not a huge failure rate but it's got me turned off as well. My understanding is the safer option of turning up the boost is a bigger blower.

bull3441

Established Member
a second keyway really isn't gonna matter as the IW is a press on balancer. Also @ PRI IW said their balancer should should taken off and inspected every year and serviced. i'm no expert but this is also what IW said at the time i called them and ordered.

DaFreak

Established Member
a second keyway really isn't gonna matter as the IW is a press on balancer. Also @ PRI IW said their balancer should should taken off and inspected every year and serviced. i'm no expert but this is also what IW said at the time i called them and ordered.

Bull, any idea what's involved with the servicing? I've been running the IW 10% for 2 years and never touched it.

09Troublemaker

" That don't sound stock"
Established Member
Bull, any idea what's involved with the servicing? I've been running the IW 10% for 2 years and never touched it.

You'd have to send it back to IW for this. I believe the cost is like $85 bucks. They suggest this if you've done internal work or have shocked the crank, i.e. broken rod, etc. ;-)

stkjock

Corn Powered 900 HP!
Established Member
Interesting, when mine was sent bak for repair IW never mentioned future service.

bull3441

Established Member