Looking to join Military, have ?'s though.

03cobraracer

Established Member
well lets see, my career path hasn't been that wonderfull so far in my life, im 26 yrs old and im an auto mechanic. its a terrible career and i wanna get out of it. i just got layed off as well. im trying to become a police officer currently but its not easy to get in, specially with alot of veterans comming home. im already an auxilary police officer in my town which is great for the experience but its volunteer and only part time here and there. ive been looking at either Coast Gaurd, National Gaurd, or Air Force. i wanna do military but im not really looking to get deployed to iraq/afganistan, just not what im looking to do. i know coast gaurd doesnt get deployed there but im pretty sure they other two do. im just trying to find out which of these would be the best for me. i wanna do my 2-4 years whatever they require then come out and get a law enforcement job either local or government. right now im just working out alot and trying to get in shape as im 5'10 and 230 lbs so i gotta lose like 30lbs. anybody have any advice as to what brance would be good for me? would like to try to even get a job as a MP or some sort of law enforcement position while im in the service. i currently have only 25 college credits so i need some more before i get my Associates but i figure i can use the military also to help with school since i cant afford it anymore.. thanks for any info or advice you guys give me. i like to here it from people who already know how it works. thanks

i was also wondering which branch would be best for bringing your wife along with you on base, as im currently engaged and once we get married i know id like her to live with me if i get permantly stationed somewhere else in the US.

Last edited:

Sapperstang

Established Member