logging and tuning with mac

williesgt

Established Member
im looking at buying a new laptop i want a mac for the reliability but was wondering if there are any dataloging or tuning programs out there for mac...if not how well does data logging softwear work on a mac running vmware or bootcamp and windows? anyone have any sugestions

kcsvt94l

1D 10 T Error
Established Member
im looking at buying a new laptop i want a mac for the reliability but was wondering if there are any dataloging or tuning programs out there for mac...if not how well does data logging softwear work on a mac running vmware or bootcamp and windows? anyone have any sugestions

Basically, everyone uses SCT to tune. LiveLink Gen 2 to datalog, as of a few months ago. I was unsuccessful in getting the SCT Tuner to detect VIA usb on both Paralells, VMWare, and Bootcamp.

I'm an IT Professional for a living and I've spent countless hours trying to get this to work. Seriously tossing around the Idea of buying a lil Cheap PoS Netbook just to tune/datalog.

Wished I could deliver better news, SCT is the ONLY thing I've had issues with on my MBP. I use several PC only based applications everyday without issue.

Stanger00

Established Member
Use bootcamp to load Windows 7 Pro or Ultimate.

I did this and have no problems with logs.

Plug my SCT device into the MBP and it fires up. Plug the device into the OBD port put in my info on live link, pick my parameters and hit the green button to record. I had issues with windows Vista...Some reason I couldnt pick the correct port or I didnt load the correct drivers. But it works now on Windows 7 thru my MBP.

williesgt

Established Member
thank you for your guys input...thinking about pulling the trigger on a new macbook...this will be my first mac...i just want something that wont be outdated in 6 months

kcsvt94l

1D 10 T Error
Established Member
Use bootcamp to load Windows 7 Pro or Ultimate.

I did this and have no problems with logs.