Learning to play guitar?

Grizzly Adams

Resident Hippie
Established Member
Lately I have been thinking about learning to play the guitar so I called up my step dad and borrowed his electric Strat. I want to give it a try before I go out and buy my own guitar. He hasn't played it in years and was kind of experimenting when he did.

To get down to it, I'm looking to learn on my own and was wondering if you guys know any places online that I get some instruction or learn the bare basics. I have no musical background and don't have the slightest clue how to read sheet music but this is something that I have wanted to learn for a while. My uncle teaches guitar lessons at a local shop but don't really want to call and ask him for free lessons. I'm not cheap, i'm just broke - and trying to pay for college:idea:

DanTheMan18

Established Member
I'd start checking up on tabs. They're the easiest way to start catching on, it's basically a roadmap for a song, with the numbers of the frets and the strings laid out. That's the way I taught myself, and I think that's the only way that I would've learned. My dad tried to teach me all the chords when I first started, and it just didn't make sense. I had to tackle it my way, and then everything started to make sense from there on out.

Like I said, just pick a song that you like, and that sounds relatively easy to play, and do a search for the tab.

If all else fails, it doesn't get much easier than "Smoke On The Water."

Mayo5

Established Member
www.ultimate-guitar.com and www.cyberfret.com are the best two free places on the net IMO.

I took lessons for almost 2 years for acoustic; they helped out alot but it wasn't what I was looking for, so I broke away and taught myself the rest and am enjoying myself immensely.

Don't worry about sheet music unless you really wanting to get into theory; but for just casual fun on the side, stick to tabs.

Tabs are used with numbers of the frets.

e 0
b 1
g 2
d 3
a 0
E 0