Knocking noise

Thunder_Storm

Established Member
My car started this a few days ago and it is driving me nuts. It only does it between 2300-3500 rpm, and only when at driving at a steady speed or slowly accelerating. Put a heavy load on it and it stops let out of it and it stops. My experience with a spun rod bearing has always been having major oil pressure issues along with it. My oil pressure gauge stays steady in the middle, the oil pan is full, and the oil is clean. This is my first mod motor car, so I have little experience with them. here's a link to a video of the noise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvsnsA2UOxU

Last edited:

TBCobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Beer Money Bros.
Video is private.

When I spun a bearing my oil pressure gauge was fine. Dont always go by that piece of junk.

So your car isnt smoking or anything?
Does is sound like the top or bottom of the motor?
Is it a tick or a knock?

ddeem

Established Member
Sounds just like my rebuilt motor... I posted Cobra Tapping Under Load a while ago and am still trouble shooting the issue. Replaced timing chains, tensioners, guides. Listen at about 1:20 and you can hear it pretty well. Mine does it around 3K as you ease into the throttle. I am going to replace the lash adjusters next but most people say they are never load dependent. Absolutely no other issues with motor (No metal, smoke, oil pressure issues, no power issues, etc) Just this stupid tick / tap.

Mustang 2001 Cobra Tapping - YouTube

RX1Cobra

Established Member
The oil pressure gauge is nothing more than an idiot light. If its got a certain psi it sits in that same spot no matter what the actual pressure is. Hard to tell but you sure it's not an exhaust leak?

Thunder_Storm

Established Member