Knock Retard

D-Con

...Rather have a Buick?
Established Member
Don't the Termintors have knock-retard based on the knock sensors? When I read about people hearing knock with their car, or other detonation problems I wonder why there isn't KR by the computer?

BTW I'm a newb with Fords and just familliar with the GM stuff.

D-Con

...Rather have a Buick?
Established Member
aha, I read the code in the directions for my Predator. It must be a generic glossary.

Seems sorta dumb not to have a knock sensor in a supercharged car..:dw:

Even the SC 3800 cars have them. :shrug:

Juruense

Banned
I believe the technical reason is that knock sensors use acoustics and the s/c engine has too much ambient noise for them to work or something like that.

Truth probably is that Ford cheaped out and then made the stock tune pig rich to be safe.

dredg9

Established Member
yeah i thought it was kind of weird when i first heard that they didnt have them. It would be nice if they did for added protective. I have them on my regal and it is nice to know how far i can push my setup, how much timing i can run,etc. without knock.

D-Con

...Rather have a Buick?
Established Member
The story goes that the supercharger was too noisy for the knock sensors to function correctly.

Gotta be a story, the SC 3800 is an eaton on a v-6 bolted to a transaxle. That almost has to be noisier than a terminator.

Damn, here I am my newest car ever and first Ford; already back to criticising Ford's "better idea" :wf: :uh oh:

SnakeBit

Mid-Life Crisis my ass!
Established Member
"Quality is Job 1"

Do you know about the oil pressure gauge yet? That's another good story.

slo-poc

SKYNET 03
Established Member
I thought the car pulls timing at certain intake temps...iat's 1 or 2's can't remember what i was told....

just asking if there is any truth to this???

Dana

Bluesmobile
Established Member