IRS leaking...

roush123

Established Member
Hello we'll my cobra has 15k miles on it and the rear end is leaking... Anyone out there have tips, hints, advise on how to tackle the job? I have the IRS brace and I'm a mechanic so I have all the tools just not sure how to start the job. Is it necessary to drop the whole rear end or is it possible to do the job while the IRS is still in the car? Any help or advise would be great! Thanks in advance!

roush123

Established Member
Also what would your recommend on gaskets or sealers? Do I need a different type of recover? Only wanting to do this job once so any help is greatly appreciated

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
Common problem with the cobras. You should consider a Ford Racing or LPW diff cover. They both have a fill and drain plug, and load bolts for the main caps. I had a shop install the LPW along with FTBR diff bushings. I"m not sure what they used for sealant (it's gray) but I brought them the Ford TA-31 I think that most people recommended to me on this site and they asked if they could use what has worked out for them in the past. Nearly 2yrs so far and it's still holding up.

Most people drop the center section out I believe, but some have gotten the job done without doing so. I'm sure more will chime in.

KLLR SNK

Established Member
Popular sealants are Lubelocker gasket or Motorcraft TA-29 gray from Tousley. The TA-29 requires sufficient drying time so if you DD you will have some downtime. If you are pulling the diff you might want to consider upgrading front and rear diff mounting bushings. Depending on how you are going to use the car you might want to follow Bdubbs suggestion of the FRPP or LPW diff cover.

nextime

Termi? Read Signature
Established Member
Permatex Ultra Grey RTV, you dont need to spend the extra cash buying the Motorcraft stuff cause Permatex probably makes it for them.

Gasket Makers : Permatex® Ultra Grey® Rigid High-Torque RTV Silicone Gasket Maker