Investing to make my money work for me!

Cobra_Tim

Established Member
Hi everyone,

As I have been reading through these forums and seeing people talking about how they don't mind taking loans our on cars and such, due to the fact their their investments make them money. Continuously I see, "taking a loan for my car is not hurting me because my investments are making me more money than having the title to the car". What kind of stuff do you invest in to make a good ROI? I just graduated college in 2012, so I am still learning how to be more financially responsible.

Thanks,
Tim

RocketSurgeon

Established Member
For long term investments I usually do oil companies. I work with a lot of smaller ones so I know when they are changing completion methods, etc that will have a positive influence on their production. Continental (CLR) and Kodiak (KOG) were some of the better ones. Really anything based in commodities will work long term.

If you have company stock options and matched 401k definitely max out your contributions to both of those. My company's stock has been killing it to the point that every quarter I'm essentially getting an extra paycheck.

jbs$

Established Member
Most such replies are just BS, few investment programs, without significant market risk, will pay more than the interest rate being paid on the car loan. There are exceptions, where money in being put into a matching 401-k or a similar type program.

jbs$

Established Member
Rocket, even though your company stock is doing well, over a longer term, do not allow yourself to become too concentrated into one stock or one industry. To do so increases your risk curve more than you think.

RocketSurgeon

Established Member