I'm new to Ohio - Question?

CincyFordman

Established Member
I am new to Ohio. Moved here about 1 1/2 ago from California, San Francisco to be exact. Out west speeding is a daily occurance for everybody. Unless you are tailgating and changing lanes way too often the highway patrol really dont bother you. Here in Cincinnati that must be different cuz everyone starts slamming there brakes at the hint of a police car. This seems more dangerous than just speeding by. Also in California only the highway patrol or Sheriff can pull you over on the highway not city cops unless its a chase that started in the streets, how does that work here in Ohio. I noticed city cops on the highways out here as well. I guess my question is what are the jurisdiction laws here in Ohio.

Top_Fuel

Person of Interest
Established Member
In Ohio it's common for local police to occasionally patrol stretches of interstate that pass through their city limits.

Also, some townships don't have their own police force. They contract with the county sheriff's office to patrol. And if you happen to speed through a stretch of interstate that passes through one of these townships, the sheriff's officers will be happy to stop you for an autograph.

The Ohio State Patrol isn't that bad...unless the vehicle you're driving has 18 wheels under it. :uh oh:

As far as stomping on the brakes when people see an officer...I don't know what to tell you. That seems to be a requirement in this state...even if you're barely going 55. :dw:

Welcome to the land of bad roads and split speed limits (55 for trucks, 65 for everyone else). That makes for some interesting traffic flow.

You think it's bad now...just wait until we get 2 inches of snow... :lol1:

METHICAL

Established Member